restoreConfig command


Use the restoreConfig command to restore the configuration of the node after backing up the configuration using the backupConfig command.

The restoreConfig command is a simple utility to restore the configuration of the node after backing up the configuration using the backupConfig command. By default, all servers on the node stop before the configuration restores so that a node synchronization does not occur during the restoration. If the configuration directory already exists, it is renamed before the restoration occurs.

See about where to run this command, see the Use command line tools article.

If we directly make changes to the application files in the APP_ROOT/installedApps directory, a process known as "hot deployment", but do not make the same changes to the application files in the APP_ROOT/config directory, the changes might be overwritten if we use the restoreConfig command.

[Linux] The backupConfig command does not save file permissions or ownership information. The restoreConfig command uses the current umask and effective user ID (EUID) to set the permissions and ownership when restoring a file. If it is required that the restored files have the original permissions and ownership, use the tar command (available on all UNIX or Linux systems) to back up and restore the configuration.

[AIX] For a logical directory for APP_ROOT/config, the restoreConfig command will not work.

 

Location

Issue the command from the $WP_PROFILE/bin directory.

 

Syntax

The command syntax is as follows:
[AIX] [HP-UX] [Linux] [Solaris]

restoreConfig.sh backup_file [options]

(Windows)

restoreConfig.bat backup_file [options]
where backup_file specifies the file to be restored. If we do not specify one, the command will not run.

 

Parameters

The following options are available for the restoreConfig command:

-help

Prints a usage statement

-location directory_name

Directory where the backup file is restored

The location defaults to the APP_ROOT/config directory.

-logfile file_name

Location of the log file to which trace information is written

By default, the log file is named restoreConfig.log and is created in the logs directory.

-nostop

Tells the restoreConfig command not to stop the servers before restoring the configuration

-password password

Password for authentication if security is enabled in the server

-profileName profile_name

Defines the profile of the appserver process in a multiple-profile installation

The -profileName option is not required for running in a single profile environment. The default for this option is the default profile.

-quiet

Suppresses the progress information that the restoreConfig command prints in normal mode

-replacelog

Replaces the log file instead of appending to the current log

-trace

Generates trace information into the log file for debugging purposes

-username user_name

User name for authentication if security is enabled in the server; acts the same as the -user option

-user user_name

User name for authentication if security is enabled in the server; acts the same as the -username option

-?

Prints a usage statement

 

Usage

The following example demonstrates correct syntax:
[AIX] [HP-UX] [Linux] [Solaris]

restoreConfig.sh WebSphereConfig_2006-04-22.zip

(Windows)

restoreConfig.bat WebSphereConfig_2006-04-22.zip

The following example restores the given file to the /tmp directory and does not stop any servers before beginning the restoration:
[AIX] [HP-UX] [Linux] [Solaris]

restoreConfig.sh WebSphereConfig_2006-04-22.zip -location /tmp -nostop

(Windows)

restoreConfig.bat WebSphereConfig_2006-04-22.zip -location /tmp -nostop

Be aware that if we restore the configuration to a directory that is different from the directory that was backed up when you performed the backupConfig command, we might need to manually update some of the paths in the configuration directory.



 

Related tasks


Use command line tools

 

Related information


backupConfig