Welcome to FilesFiles is a collaboration tool in which you can upload files and let other people see and work with them. You can also see and work with other people's files.
Files provides a simple way to share files, information, communications, and ideas with other members of your team without sending large files through email. You only need to understand a few concepts to use Files:
Upload files from your computer by logging in and clicking Upload a File from anywhere in Files. See How do I add my own files?.
Keep files private so that only you can read and work with them. Share files with specific people or communities, and allow them to share the files with others. Or make files public so that anyone who an access IBM Connections can read them. See How do I share files?.
Find files by looking through lists of files in different views. Sort views with columns. Filter views to narrow the lists by date, by how they are shared, or by access level. Search for files or find them using tags. Pin files you work with to quickly find them when you need them. Finally, organize files in folders to find them more easily. See How do I find files?.
Open a file and click Follow to get emails when the file is edited or commented on. See How do I track file and folder changes?.
When you share your files with people you give them Reader or Editor access to the file. When you share your files with communities you give them Reader access. When you share your folders with other people or groups you can give them Reader, Contributor, or Owner access to the folder. See How do I share files?.
Recommending and commenting
Recommend and comment on files. See What can I do with other people's files?.
Tags are keywords that you assign to files that make the files easier to find later. See What can I do with tags in Files?.
Organizing files in folders
Organize your files in folders. Like files, you can follow folders to get emails when they are updated. Folders can be private, shared, or public. Keep folders private so that only you can work with them. Share folders with specific people or groups and choose their access. Or make folders public so that anyone who an access IBM Connections can read them. See How do I create folders?.
When you add a file it becomes the first version of the file. When the file is edited and saved that becomes the second version. A third edit creates a third version, and so on. If you have enough access to read a file, you can see its versions. If you are the owner of a file you can delete versions. See What happens to my file when someone edits it?.
Move files to the trash to remove them from Files. Files in trash are not yet permanently deleted. To find a files that you have moved to the trash click Trash in the navigation box. Other people cannot see or link files that are in your trash. See How does trash work?.
Parent topicFiles overviews, how-tos, and FAQs
Who can work with files?
What happens to my file when someone edits it?
How do I add my own files?
How do I share files?
What can I do with other people's files?
How do I create folders?
What can I do with tags in Files?
How do I find files?
How do I track file and folder changes?
How does trash work?